Fighting Apathy

I can see the opposition in your heart

It manifests in your eyes

And you’re the worst at hiding it

You long to never feel and never hurt again

You’ve got a look that says you’re barely hanging on

Barely going to make it through the night
You’ve never worn apathy quite as well

As anger, hate, and animosity

But it’s all I’m seeing in your face

It’s all I’m hearing in your words
Just remember that none of this is ever real

And pain is just a construct of our minds

If we can conquer it, instead of fall to it

Then we will never be afraid in this life

We will never be afraid to die
I know you don’t want to feel this

To feel anything- but I know it will end

I know you don’t want to feel this

To feel for anyone- but it’s worth it

I swear

Leave a Reply

