The Fight

You can’t bury pain

And not expect it

To grow roots

You can’t foster hate

And not expect it

To completely consume

 

To think on this over and over again

Is to water and nurture it

And let it spread

Like a virus at your core

It slowly overtakes you

Always wanting more

 

You can’t fight it,

No, you can’t fight it alone

Trust me, I’ve been there and believe me- I know

You can’t hide it,

No, you can’t hide it for long

I’ve seen your eyes and there’s no fire that you once had before

 

You can’t bury it

You can’t force your problems below and not expect them to show

You can’t bury it

It’s going eat you alive and kill you slowly from the inside

 

You can’t fight it,

No, you can’t fight it alone

Trust me, I’ve been there and believe me- I know

You can’t hide it,

No, you can’t hide it for long

I’ve seen your eyes and there’s no fire that you once had before

 

Leave a Reply

