Here’s To You

Every word you say

Is designed to cut right through me,

To tear into me and bring me to my knees

I can see you’ve done this before

 

And every word you say

Is designed to bend and to break me

You’re only looking to exacerbate things

I can see you’ve done this before

 

I see it inside you-

Your true motivations

To scar and to build hate

You feed on it- it gives you energy

 

So here’s to you getting

Everything you have coming your way

And here’s to you feeling

Everything you’ve put me through

Here’s to you

 

Every move you make

Is set in motion to bring about pain

So self-preserving

Nothing you do can ever be seen as grace

 

You say that you care

But your actions paint you so differently

Don’t try and turn things on me

Cause we both know it’s you who’s failed

 

So here’s to you getting

Everything you have coming your way

And here’s to you feeling

Everything you’ve put me through

Here’s to you

 

Pettiness defines you

You’re so scared of losing control

That you’ll act like a child

As long as it gets things going your way

Well, I’m done and I see you

For everything you really are

Leave a Reply

