I Should Be Waking From This Dream…

I feel as though I should be waking from this dream

But my eyes are open, and I see everything is real

My heart wants so badly for this to all be an illusion

My mind knows better, and it’s killing me

 

The nightmare is real this time

There’s no waking and being fine

What once was an impossibility

Has now become our overwhelming reality

 

With the morning comes the truth-

That this world is darker and crueler than

We ever had thought it to be

There is no going back in time

To fix this uncontrollable mess we’ve made

 

The nightmare is real this time

There’s no waking and being fine

What once was an impossibility

Has now become our overwhelming reality

 

There are no second chances here

We gave up everything that we once held dear

It’s too late to make a change

Now we must live with what we hate

 

This is what we created

This is what have chosen to destroy ourselves with

This is what we created

This is how we chose to hang ourselves

 

 

Leave a Reply

